The Sony World Photography Awards is one of the largest photo competition in the world celebrating its 10th year, the photography awards program has received more than a million submissions since its inception.

There are ten categories, and first-, second-, and third-place winners are chosen within each.For the “Professional Competition,” photographers must submit a body of work — at least five images — that explores a single subject.

The highest honor within the competition is the “Photographer of the Year” award, which is chosen regardless of which category photographers submitted their work to. Here are this year’s winners –



First place, Professional Portraiture — George Mayer, Russian Federation


First place, Contemporary Issues — Tasneem Alsultan, Saudi Arabia


Second place, Natural World — Ami Vitale, United States


First place, Conceptual — Sabine Cattaneo, Switzerland

First place, Current Affairs and News — Alessio Romenzi, Italy


First place, Daily Life — Sandra Hoyn, Germany


First place, Natural World — Will Burrard-Lucas, United Kingdom


First place, Sport — Yuan Peng, China


First place, Still Life — Henry Agudelo, Colombia


Photographer of the Year, Landscape — Frederik Buyckx


Second place, Architecture — Julien Chatelin, France


Second place, Conceptual — Alexander Anufriev, Russian Federation


Second place, Contemporary Issues — Li Song, China


Second Place, Current Affairs and News — Joe Raedle, United States


Second place, Daily Life — Christina Simons, Iceland


Second place, Landscape — Kurt Tong, United Kingdom


Second place, Portraiture — Romina Ressia, Argentina


Second place, Sport — Eduard Korniyenko, Russian Federation


Second place, Still Life — Shinya Masuda, Japan, Professional


Third place, Architecture — Diego Mayon, Italy


Third place, Conceptual — Gao Peng, China


Third place, Contemporary Issues — Lorenzo Maccotta, Italy


Third place, Current Affairs and News — Ivor Prickett, Ireland


Third place, Daily Life — Alice Cannara Malan, Italy


Third place, Landscape — Peter Franck, Germany


Third place, Natural World — Christian Vizl, Mexico


Third place, Portraiture — Renshi Chen, China


Third place, Sport — Jason O’Brien, Australia


First place, Architecture — Dongni, China


Third place, Still Life — Christoffer Askman, Denmark